the5thlineproject

Day 149 May 29

In 5th line on May 29, 2009 at 1:20 pm

“V.I.P., B.O., T.L.C. (initals are declasse)” ~~The Cosmo Girl’s Guide to the New Etiquette edited by Helen Gurley Brown

When I was 10 years old, I would sneak into my parent’s reading room, a.k.a. the den, pull this book off the shelf, and read until I heard someone coming. I didn’t want my parents to know I was reading Cosmo or something by Cosmo. But certain rules of etiquette from the book have stuck in my mind, some 30 years later. Like, when getting into a car, sit first, then swing your legs into the vehicle. No one wants to see you getting in ass first. 🙂

Wonder how much has changed? This sentence/line is from a list of words and phrases that are cliche. Yup. B.O. is always cliche.

Leave a Reply

