the5thlineproject

Family Relationship Mass Blogging Day – WOW! Women on Writing

In 5th line on October 13, 2009 at 2:54 pm

Normally, the only posts you’ll find on this site are single lines of literature, the fifth line to be exact, from page 56 of a book.

It doesn’t matter what book, either. Sharing snippets of books has taught me an interesting fact of life: literature shapes the people we are.

I grew up in a family of readers. My father was an English teacher; my mom an elementary teacher-turned-librarian. Our house was filled with books. On Saturday afternoons, if we weren’t at Nebraska football games, I’d slip away into our den/library, grab a book off the shelf, and spend the afternoon transported to other worlds.

Here, I joined James Bond on mysterious missions.  Here, I hid The Cosmo Girl’s Guide to Etiquette inside another book, hoping my parents didn’t catch me reading about meeting and creating a relationship with a member of the opposite sex. Here, I discovered the prejudiced world we lived in and couldn’t believe how people were treated in To Kill A Mockingbird.

As I grew older, I shared my enjoyment for books with my children. My oldest daughter read all the time. I attribute some of this to her grandparents, who purchased the entire R.L. Stine Goosebumps series for her. Today, she still loves a mystery, and even though her career keeps her busy and reading literature of a more technical nature, she finds time for Janet Evanovich, Sue Grafton, and Alex Kava.

My middle daughter “despises reading.” Her words, exactly. But, the last time she visited, she pulled Thirteen Reasons Why from my booksehfl and couldn’t put it down. I loaded her up with a couple other favorites and hope she is modeling reading to her three-year-old son. Marvin, my grandson, receives a multitude of books from his great-grandparents and his grandparents for his birthday and holidays. He likes to crawl next to us on the couch and have us read to him. I hope that trend continues!

My youngest daughter didn’t enjoy reading when she was in elementary school. I have an inkling that her eyesight wasn’t the best and she honestly had trouble reading. She would tell me that the letters were jumping off the page. Doctors couldnt find anything wrong, except that she needed glasses, which didn’t really solve the problem. But a few years later, Harry Potter hit bookstores and she couldn’t put them down. Harry led to The Twilight  series which led to another series that I can never remember the name of. Hunted? Haunted?

Reading is a great way to bond with your kids and family. It opens discussions and lets us share viewpoints. Perhaps if more families devoted time to reading, there wouldn’t be so many family “dramas” or disputes. After all, it opens the lines of communication – the basis of family relationships.

  1. Great Blog. I love the set up 🙂

  2. Hey, I found your blog while searching on Google. I have a blog on online stock trading, I’ll bookmark your site.

Leave a Reply

